John Marshall Courts Building
400 North 9th Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Days of Operation: Monday - Friday
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Recording Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Marriage Licenses: 8:30 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
|General Info||(804) 646-6505|
|Marriage License||(804) 646-6767|
|Jury Duty Line||(804) 646-0802|
|Jury Question Line||(804) 646-6501|
|Criminal Section||(804) 646-6553|
|Civil Section:||(804) 646-6536|
|Record Room||(804) 646-6530|
Obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit
- Online classes are not acceptable with applications received after January 1,2021 as the law requires in-person attendance.
- Beginning July 1, 2020, pursuant to changes in the Code of Virginia, an updated concealed handgun permit application will need to be used by parties applying for a concealed handgun permit. At the time of application, one valid form of ID is required. The ID must be from a governmental agency of the Commonwealth, the US Department of Defense or the US State Department (passport). The new application will be available on the Virginia State Police website at https://vsp.virginia.gov/services/firearms/resident-concealed-handgun-permits/ on July 1, 2020. FOR FIRST TIME APPLICANTS, the application and ID must be presented in person. For renewals, the application may be mailed, but must include a photocopy of an ID as described above. We will be unable to accommodate exceptions.
- Applications are available in the Clerk's Office from 8:30 a.m. - 4:15 p.m. Applications are also available through the State Police at the following web site: https://vsp.virginia.gov/services/firearms/resident-concealed-handgun-permits/
- Persons wishing to obtain a concealed handgun permit must apply in the circuit court of the city or county of their residence.
- Applicants who complete their applications in the clerk's office must present a driver's license or comparable photo I.D. in order to have their signature acknowledged. Notarized, complete applications may be delivered or mailed to the Clerk's Office.
- The processing fee is $50. Payment may be made by cash, credit card, check or money order (payable to Edward F. Jewett, Clerk).
- Processing of these applications can take up to 45 days. The Police Department performs background checks and then forwards this information to the Circuit Court Clerk. The Clerk submits the background information with the application to the Judge who reviews them and enters an order either granting or denying the permit.
- The Clerk's Office will mail the permit to the permit holder in the self-addressed envelope previously completed by the applicant. Please allow 45 days from the time the completed application is filed with the Clerk's Office.
Handgun Competency Requirement
- Completing any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or a similar agency of another state;
- Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;
- Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law-enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Criminal Justice Services;
- Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;
- Presenting evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or current military service or proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services;
- Obtaining or previously having held a license to carry a firearm in this Commonwealth or a locality thereof, unless such license has been revoked for cause;
- Completing any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor;
- Completing any governmental police agency firearms training course and qualifying to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties; or
- Completing any other firearms training which the court deems adequate.
A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes; an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught such course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant; or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation in firearms competition must be provided.