Contact Us

Address: 

John Marshall Courts Building
400 North 9th Street
Richmond, VA 23219

 

Days of Operation:        Monday - Friday

Hours:                              8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Recording Hours:           8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Marriage Licenses:         8:30 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.

 

Phone:

General Info(804) 646-6505
Marriage License(804) 646-6767
Jury Duty Line(804) 646-0802
Jury Question Line(804) 646-6501
Criminal Section (804) 646-6553
Fax:(804) 646-6562
Civil Section:(804) 646-6536
Fax:(804) 646-7274
Probate(804) 646-6540
Record Room(804) 646-6530

Domestic Judgments

The fee for docketing a judgment obtained in a Virginia court is $10.00. Judgments that do not meet the requirements of Code of Virginia § 8.01-446 cannot be docketed and will be returned to the presenting party.

Payment may be made by cash, credit card, check or money order (payable to Edward F. Jewett,  Clerk). Debit cards are not accepted for the payment of such fees.

Foreign Judgments

Foreign judgments filed in accordance with the Uniform Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act or the Uniform Foreign Country Money-Judgments Recognition Act are docketed for a fee of $25.00.

Payment may be made by cash, credit card, check or money order (payable to Edward F. Jewett,  Clerk). Debit cards are not accepted for the payment of such fees.

Judgment Releases

There is no fee to record a judgment release presented by a judgment creditor. The fee to record an official release from the Internal Revenue Service is $5.00.

Forms for releasing a judgment are available through the web site of the Supreme Court of Virginia at www.courts.state.va.us.

Recording Hours

Recording hours are from 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Documents presented after normal recording hours will be recorded the next business day. For additional information regarding judgments, please call the Clerk's Office at (804) 646-6530.